Buddhist Bows & Chanting

Guide to Practice of Buddhist Bows, Pureland Bows & Chanting

In Buddhist tradition, we perform 3 Bows as our commitment & reminder to practice.

  1. I take refuge in Buddha = Buddha as our teacher or physician
  2. I take refuge in Dharma = teachings or medicine given by Buddha
  3. I take refuge in Sangha = community of Buddhist practitioners

Mantras: is a word/s or sound that are repeated to help with concentration in meditation. 

Green Tara Mantra: : om tare tuttare ture soha.     Read more
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBopONbgNpQ

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZdbCa9DDEo

Pure Land Mantra: Nami Amitofo  Read more…
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H4wA5bb6Yc

Meditation: zazen is a form of Zen meditation where we observe breath and count from 1 to 10. Read more

Pure Land is a branch of Buddhism in which the main practice is to chant the name the mantra “Nami Amitofo”. It means “Infinite Light”. By chanting and we request Amitabha Buddha to be born in Pure Land where it is much easier to work on Enlightenment. 

Buddhism teachings can be summarized by few themes:

A. Impermanence (Pali word Annica): There is nothing permanent and our lack of understanding this is a cause of our suffering

B.. Four Noble Truths:

  1. Life is full of Dukkha or Suffering (Pali word translates to pain, suffering, stress, anxiety or dissatisfaction)
    Birth, old age, pain, injury, sickness and death physically, mentally and emotionally cause us suffering.
  2. The cause of Dukkha or Suffering are
    • Attachment to have = craving of sensual desires, craving of power or famous
    • Attachment not to have = aversion (Dvesha)
    • Ignorance = one incapacity to see the true nature of self, as things are.
  3. There is a way to End Suffering
  4. The path is Noble Eightfold path
  • Right Understanding: seeing as things truly are
  • Right Intention: setting right attitude
  • Right Speech: speaking truthfully, avoiding gossip/slander/offensive words
  • Right Action: refraining from wrong acts
  • Right Livelihood: avoiding work that harms others, animals, environment
  • Right Effort: choosing acts like compassion, kindness
  • Right Mindfulness: practicing and developing awareness of body, mind, feelings
  • Right Concentration: practicing meditation