Pure Land: Pure Land Buddhism, also referred to as Amidism in English, is a broad branch of Mahayana Buddhism and one of the most widely practiced traditions of Buddhism in East Asia. Pure Land is a tradition of Buddhist teachings that are focused on the Buddha Amitābha.
Read More about PureLand Buddhism

ZEN: Zen is a way of getting in touch with the deepest things our selves and learning to become friends with what we are.
The word “Zen” is the Japanese pronunciation of the Chinese “Ch’an,” which means “meditation” and originally “Dhayna” from India. Ch’an came to Japan and became “Zen” around the eighth century.
Read about Zen Meditation

Mantras: is a word/s or sound that are repeated to help with concentration in meditation.

1. GREEN TARA : om tare tuttare ture soha


Refuge: In Buddhist tradition, we perform 3 Bows as our commitment & reminder to practice.

  1. I take refuge in Buddha = Buddha as our teacher or physician
  2. I take refuge in Dharma = teachings or medicine given by Buddha
  3. I take refuge in Sangha = community of Buddhist practitioners

Buddhist teachings can be summarized by few themes:

A. Impermanence (Pali word Annica): There is nothing permanent and our lack of understanding this is a cause of our suffering

B.. Four Noble Truths:

  1. Life is full of Dukkha or Suffering (Pali word translates to pain, suffering, stress, anxiety or dissatisfaction)
    Birth, old age, pain, injury, sickness and death physically, mentally and emotionally cause us suffering. 
  2. The cause of Dukkha or Suffering are
    • Attachment to have = craving of sensual desires, craving of power or famous
    • Attachment not to have = aversion (Dvesha)
    • Ignorance = one incapacity to see the true nature of self, as things are.
  3. There is a way to End Suffering
  4. The path is Noble Eightfold path
  • Right Understanding: seeing as things truly are
  • Right Intention: setting right attitude
  • Right Speech: speaking truthfully, avoiding gossip/slander/offensive words
  • Right Action: refraining from wrong acts
  • Right Livelihood: avoiding work that harms others, animals, environment
  • Right Effort: choosing acts like compassion, kindness
  • Right Mindfulness: practicing and developing awareness of body, mind, feelings
  • Right Concentration: practicing meditation